Leaders in Law 2018


Custom Content from the Los Angeles Business Journal

Letter from the Publisher

Anna Magzanyan

The State Bar of California reports that there are more than 67,000 lawyers in Los Angeles County, which makes standing out from the field a particularly impressive feat. But that’s what the in-house counsel and firm attorneys in our eighth annual Leaders in Law special supplement have done.

This supplement comes on the heels of the Leaders in Law Awards Luncheon, where we had the opportunity to celebrate the outstanding work performed by these remarkable individuals and teams on Wednesday, October 20th at the Omni Los Angeles Hotel at California Plaza. In the following pages, we will reflect on the winners and finalists who were a part of what was a truly inspirational event. We also shed some additional light on a select group of premier business law practitioners who work among us today.

We hope you enjoy this special section, which contains some unique insights on what exactly it means to be a leading attorney in today’s business climate.

Best regards,
Anna Magzanyan
Publisher & CEO

In-House Counsel of the Year Winners
Victor King – Government/Municipal
Richard B. Levy – Private Large Company
Kim Matthews – Private Large Compnay
Nicole Duckett – Private Small Company
Lisa L. Kim – Public Mid-Size Company
Jared Wolff – Public Large Company
Jennifer Banks – Public Small Company
Shannon Kelly – Rising Star of the Year

In-House Counsel Finalists
Michael Alvarado – Five Point Holdings, LLC
Peter E. Braveman – Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Francesca Brooks – Century Group
Allison Buchner – Dollar Shave Club
Cori Cardwell – United Pacific
Stephen Clark – The J. Paul Getty Trust
Nicole Diaz – Snap, Inc
Andrew J. Dunbar – Bel Air Investment Advisors LLC
Daniel M. Flores – Studios Inc.
David Robert Holmquist – Los Angeles Unified School District
Zazi Pope – Warner Brothers Entertainment Inc.
Michael Preston – California Resources Corporation
Rob Rader – Ovation LLC
John Rogovin – Warner Brothers Entertainment Inc.
Michael Rowles – Live Nation Entertainment
Dan Tepstein – Oath, a Verizon Company
Tyler Theobald – Marcus & Millichap
Thomas Wehinger – Regent, LP

For the list of In-House Counsel Nominees, click here.

Firm Attorney of the Year Winners
Christopher S. Spicer – Entertainment
James L. Arnone – Enviromental
Gerry Hinkley – HealthCare
Edward A. Perron – International
Patrick D. Harder – Real Estate
Rick Richmond – Intellectual Property
Apalla U.Chopra – Labor & Employment
Jeff E. Scott – Litigation
Eric M. Krautheimer – Mergers and Acquisitions

Firm Attorney Finalists
Ivy Kagan Bierman – Loeb & Loeb LLP
Matthew Erramouspe – O’Melveny & Myers LLP
Darrell D. Miller – Fox Rothschild LLP
Bruce Tobey – O’Melveny & Myers LLP
Laurae Rossi – Winston & Strawn LLP
Daniel Sinaiko – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Terri Hilliard – Terri Hilliard, PC
Kevin B. Kroeker – Crowell & Moring LLP
Jonathan Bloch – Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP
Franklin Kang – Polsinelli LLP
Mike Margolis – Blank Rome LLP
Nimish Patel – Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp, LLP
Bob Baradaran – Greenberg Glusker LLP
Kevin Ehrhart – Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Andrew Kirsh – Sklar Kirsh LLP
Thomas J. Masenga – Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP
Dr. Dariush Adli – ADLI Law Group P.C.
Marc Fenster – Russ August & Kabat Law
Kalpana Srinivasan – Susman Godfrey LLP
Ellisen Turner – Irell & Manella LLP
Harry I. Johnson, III – Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Timothy Long – Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP
Mark Neubauer – Carlton Fields
Todd B. Scherwin – Fisher Phillips, LLP
Angela Agrusa – DLA Piper
Louis R. “Skip” Miller – Miller Barondess, LLP
Roland Tellis – Baron & Budd, P.C.
Alex M. Weingarten – Venable LLP
Alison S. Ressler – Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
Jason H. Silvera – Latham & Watkins LLP
Andrew J. Weidhaas – Goodwin Procter LLP
Michael A. Woronoff – Proskauer Rose LLP

For the list of Firm Attorney Nominees, click here.

Inside this supplement:

California Consumer Privacy Act and Its Impact
On June 28, 2018, California Governor Jerry Brown signed the California Consumer Privacy Act of 2018 (“CCPA”), a groundbreaking law that signals a shift in the data privacy regime in the U.S. and likely will require significant changes to businesses’ data protection programs… Read More

Los Angeles County Bar Association Introduces “ADMITTED,” a Podcast for Future leaders in Law
This summer, the Los Angeles County Bar Association (LACBA), in conjunction with its Barristers Section for new and young attorneys, launched “ADMITTED,” a new podcast which assembles experiences, tips, and insights from practicing attorneys… Read More

Leave the Gun, Take the Cannoli: A Brief Primer on the Qualified Opportunity Zones Program
This classic line from The Godfather, strangely comes to mind in light of a new federal program that allows for the deferral of capital gains taxes. “Leave the Taxes. Invest in the Property” is essentially the mantra of the recently enacted Qualified Opportunity Zone program (the “Program”)… Read More

LACBA Domestic Violence Legal Services Project Receives $10,000 Grant Attorneys
Earlier this year, Counsel for Justice (CFJ) announced that the Los Angeles County Bar Association (LACBA) Domestic Violence Legal Services Project (DVP) was awarded a $10,000 grant by the Association of Certified Family Law Specialists Foundation (Foundation)… Read More

LACBA Offers Independent Juvenile Defender Program
The Los Angeles County Bar Association (LACBA), one of the largest voluntary metropolitan bar associations in the country, last year established the LACBA Independent Juvenile Defender Program (IJDP)… Read More