Phillip A. Washington


Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro)

As Metro CEO, Washington manages a total balanced budget of $7.2 billion for FY20, is responsible for overseeing between $18-$20 billion in capital projects, and provides oversight of an agency with nearly 11,000 employees that transports 1.2 million boarding passengers daily riding on a fleet of 2,000 clean-air buses and six rail lines. Metro is the lead transportation planning, programming and financing agency for LA County. As such, it is a major construction agency that oversees bus, rail, highway and other mobility-related infrastructure projects – together representing the largest modern public works program in North America.

Washington was a key leader in the 2016 successful effort to pass a new half-cent sales tax in Los Angeles County, which garnered 71.15% voter approval. Measure M will allow Metro to build 40 major highway and transit projects over the next 40 years, create 778,000 jobs and provide $133.3 billion in economic impact for the region.

Washington came to Los Angeles from Denver where he served as the CEO of Denver Regional Transportation District since 2009, after serving as assistant general manager of RTD for nearly 10 years before being named CEO.

In Denver, Washington led and implemented the FasTracks program, one of the largest voter-approved transportation expansion programs in the country. Under his leadership, Denver’s West Corridor Rail Line project was completed under budget and eight months earlier than scheduled, and the award-winning Denver Union Station project was completed five months early and is realizing tremendous revenue/value capture from the surrounding development.

Also, in Denver, Washington implemented the nation’s first and only $2.2 billion transit full blown public-private partnership (P3), which is still in operation. His emphasis on measuring and managing agency performance led to a nearly 90% on-time bus and rail service, and 96% ADA on-time performance.

Washington has received numerous prestigious assignments and honors. In 2019, he testified before the U.S. Congressional Transportation and Infrastructure Committee. In 2018, he was awarded the Honorable Ray LaHood Award (former U.S. Secretary of Transportation) by the Women’s Transportation Seminar (WTS) for his outstanding contribution in promoting opportunities to advance and advocate for women in the transportation industry. In 2017, he was awarded the Judge Harry Pregerson Public Service Award for his service to U.S. military veterans. In 2016, he was chosen by the National Safety Council as one of the CEOs Who “Get It” – an honor bestowed on CEOs who demonstrate leadership in safety at the highest levels. In 2014, he was selected by the editors of Engineering News-Record as one of the Top 25 Newsmakers of 2013. Washington was named 2013-2014 Outstanding Public Transportation CEO of the Year in North America by the American Public Transportation Association (APTA). In 2012, President Obama named him a White House Transportation Innovators Champion of Change. In 2009, he was appointed by Colorado Governor Bill Ritter to serve on the State of Colorado’s Workforce Development Council helping the state create a 21st century workforce. In 2007, he was appointed by the mayor of Denver to head the Host Transportation Committee for the 2008 Democratic National Convention.

Originally from the South Side of Chicago – the Chicago housing projects of Altgeld Gardens – Washington is a 24-year veteran of the United States Army, where he held the rank of Command Sergeant Major, the highest non-commissioned officer rank an enlisted soldier can achieve. He retired from active duty, as a disabled veteran, and was awarded the prestigious Defense Superior Service Medal for exceptional service to his country. He holds a B.A. in Business from Columbia College, an M.A. in Management from Webster University, and is a graduate of the Harvard University Kennedy School for Senior Executives in State and Local Government. He is also a past chair of APTA and a former member of the Executive Committee of the Transportation Research Board and the Eno Center for Transportation.

Return to Index

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, CLICK HERE.