Photo courtesy of Angela Reddock

Photo courtesy of Angela Reddock

Being a lawyer is something Angela Reddock-Wright naturally gravitated toward. Born in Germany, where her father was stationed in the Army, Reddock-Wright briefly lived in her parents’ hometown of Birmingham, Ala., before relocating to Compton. She soon engaged in oratorical contests and did public speaking at school and at church. People who heard her suggested she become an attorney. She eventually won a scholarship to the Brentwood School before heading to Amherst College. When she returned home to attend UCLA Law School, she planned to become an entertainment lawyer. Her first job, at a boutique employment and labor firm, changed her mind. She has since served as a commissioner for the Los Angeles Department of Transportation and now practices employment law at her firm, Reddock Law Group. Reddock-Wright recently spoke with the Business Journal about her work, her family and making time for what matters.

Describe your morning routine.

I wake up between 5 and 6 a.m. I have my personal devotional just to get my mind set for the day, reading my Bible, praying, taking about 30 minutes to center myself. I’m usually reading about leadership, or how to interact with others, or how to maintain peace and calmness. I have lots of books targeted toward business and professional women. I’ll go to my water aerobics class, and/or check my email. I try to do a protein-based breakfast, usually a boiled egg, turkey bacon and maybe whole grain toast and fruit.

What is a typical workday like for you?

My days are different every day. Some days I’m going to the office, working from home, (or) going to a client site, but on average, I’m headed out the door by 9:30. I do workplace investigations and employment mediations and arbitrations. I usually start engaging with clients at about 10 a.m. If I’m going to a client site to interview witnesses for an investigation, I usually arrive by 10 and schedule myself to be there until 3 or 4. My husband usually gets home by 5 or 6, so we’ll have a couple of hours together just debriefing on each other’s day. Then, I’ll usually do two to three hours of work before I go to bed.

How do you maintain work/life balance?

My husband and I both work really hard in our jobs, so we have to work equally hard to make sure we have time for each other. I teach on Tuesday nights at UCLA Extension. My husband had the opportunity to take classes. We live in the South Bay, so we drive together, and with the 405 that gives us a good hour in the car. Then, we try to do Friday date night. Our commitment is to do something we wouldn’t ordinarily do at least once a week. We go to church together on Sundays and spend time after church together and with family. We have children and grandchildren.

What is your greatest accomplishment?

Professionally, starting my own business. Being an entrepreneur is not easy. It requires a lot of commitment and work and dedication, so the fact I’ve been able to establish a firm, maintain it and sustain it over the last few years, with plans to grow, that’s been a great accomplishment.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, CLICK HERE.