WORKPLACE CHANGES IN THE YEAR 2000
By Jodi L. Karpel, Esq.
State laws governing overtime, sick leave, and age discrimination in employment will change on January 1, 2000. As a result of three bills signed by Governor Gray Davis, AB 60, AB 109, and SB 26, there are substantial changes to California labor laws which require significant revisions to most employers' policies and procedures.
Daily Overtime Reinstated (AB 60)
AB 60, known as the "Eight-Hour-Day Restoration and Workplace Flexibility Act of 1999," reinstates the requirement to pay daily overtime in California. Although AB 60 also provides for alternative workweeks and allows for an employee to "make-up" lost time without earning overtime pay, AB 60 sets forth specific procedures for implementing these optional procedures. For most employers, the new law will go into effect on January 1, 2000.
AB 60 requires employers to pay an employee one and one-half times the employee's regular rate of pay (1) for all hours worked in excess of eight hours in any workday, (2) for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in any workweek, or (3) for the first eight hours worked on the seventh day of work in any workweek. In addition, the law requires employers to pay an employee twice the employee's regular rate of pay for any work in excess of 12 hours in a workday, or for any work in excess of eight hours on the seventh day of work in any workweek.
Despite its daily overtime requirements, AB 60 also allows employees to "make-up" time without earning overtime pay. An employer may approve an employee's written request to make-up work time that is lost due to the employee's need for time off. If the make-up time is worked during the same workweek as the time lost, and if the total hours worked, including make-up time, does not exceed 11 hours in one workday or 40 hours in one workweek, the make-up time is not required to be counted when computing overtime.
An employer may propose that its employees adopt a regularly scheduled alternative workweek. An alternative workweek allows the affected employees to work up to ten hours per day within a 40 hour workweek without the payment of overtime. In order to adopt an alternative workweek, it must be approved in a secret ballot election by at least two-thirds of the affected employees in the work unit. If the employee's approve the alternative workweek, they will only receive overtime for hours worked in excess of the alternative schedule. If the alternative schedule is approved, employers must make a reasonable effort to accommodate employees who are unable to work the alternative schedule. In order for the alternative workweek to be valid, the results of the election must be sent to the Division of Labor Statistics and Research within 30 days after the results are final. Effective January 1, 2000, alternative workweek schedules currently in existence may be null and void, depending upon the nature of the alternative workweek and the date the alternative workweek was established.
For reprint and licensing requests for this article, CLICK HERE.
Stories You May Also Be Interested In
- Human Resources, Staffing & Employment: A Holiday Stocking for California Businesses - Treats or Lumps of Coal Heading into 2018
- Businesses Fear Bill for Sick Days
- Business Groups Take Bruising From State Bills
- Jerry Brown Signs Bills Expanding Parental Leave, Banning Employers from Asking Salary Histories
- Driving the Overtime Debate
- Business Groups Clock In on Effort to Loosen Overtime Law
- Cost of Doing Business Expected to Rise as New State Laws Take Effect