In contrast to a shareholder revolt three years ago against former Chief Executive Officer Michael D. Eisner, The Walt Disney Co's. current leadership received a strong vote of confidence Thursday at the conglomerate's annual shareholder meeting in New Orleans, the Los Angeles Daily News reports.

Shareholders resoundingly re-elected Disney's 11-member board at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans, a location selected by current CEO Robert Iger as a show of support for the city ravaged by Hurricane Katrina in 2005.

In addition to Iger, 98 percent of votes were cast in favor of new chairman John E. Pepper Sr. and Steve Jobs, whose Pixar Animation Studios became part of the Disney fold last year. Re-elected by the same margin were John E. Bryson, John S. Chen, Judith L. Estrin, Fred H. Langhammer, Aylwin B. Lewis, Monica C. Lozano, Robert W. Matschullat and Orin C. Smith.

At the 2004 meeting in Philadelphia, shareholders staged an unprecedented rebellion that resulted in Eisner being stripped of his role as chairman. He stepped down as CEO in fall 2005.

Read the full Daily News story .

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, CLICK HERE.