66.3 F
Los Angeles
Sunday, May 19, 2024

Top 100 Lawyers Event Recap


Josh Schimmels

The Los Angeles Business Journal was proud to host our second annual Top 100 Lawyers event on the evening of Thursday, May 18th at the Biltmore Los Angeles. This exciting event shone the spotlight on the region’s outstanding legal community by recognizing Los Angeles’ top 100 lawyers for their legal achievements, community involvement and impacts on the profession. In addition, we also presented several specialty awards to those who continue to excel in profession in unique and impactful ways.

Considering the fact that the Los Angeles region has long been known for its status as a hub for legal though leaders and record-setting attorneys, being a standout in that field is particularly impressive.

The 100 lawyers listed throughout this section (to be exact, there’s actually 101 this year) have demonstrated exceptional legal skill and achievements across the full spectrum of responsibility, exemplary leadership and contributions to the Los Angeles community at large. On the basic surface, some of the particular abilities and traits that help to make a Lawyer stand out include responsiveness, analytical skills, good research skills, speaking skills and listening skills.

Beyond that there are many strategic intangibles that take quality attorneys to the next level. Each of the professionals listed in these pages are experts and thought leaders in their respective areas of specialty and each have had a hand in helping the legal system function and thrive here in Southern California. In the following pages we share biographical information on these legal stand outs and shed some additional light on some of the premier examples of business law practitioners among us today.

Many thanks to our sponsors, who helped to make this event possible: Baker McKenzie; BDG Law Group; Buchalter; Clark Hill PLC; Foley & Lardner; Hueston Hennigan LLP; King & Spalding; Lagerlof, LLP; Locke Lord LLP; Loeb & Loeb LLP; and Thompson Coburn LLP. We hope you enjoy this special section, which contains some unique insights on what exactly it means to be a leading attorney in today’s business climate.



Angela Agrusa – DLA Piper
Andrew Apfelberg – Greenberg Glusker LLP
Jeff Atkin – Foley & Lardner
Elena Baca – Paul Hastings LLP
Ryan Baker – Waymaker LLP
Adam Bass – Buchalter
Brian Bergman – BDG Law Group
Simran Bindra – Thompson Coburn LLP
Daniel Bir – Polsinelli
Jeff Bjork – Latham & Watkins LLP
Brad Brian – Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
Tamara Bush – Dykema
Vicki Chou – Hueston Hennigan LLP
Morgan Chu – Irell & Manella LLP
Dan Clivner – Sidley Austin LLP
Nancy Sher Cohen – Lathrop GPM
Mara Curtis – Reed Smith LLP
Jon Daryanani – Perkins Coie LLP
William Delgado – DTO Law
Joshua Driskell – Lagerlof, LLP
John Exner – Jackson Lewis, P.C.
Miles Feldman – Raines Feldman
Sheila Fix – Wood Smith Henning & Berman LLP
Alan Friel – Squire Patton Boggs
Michelle Gasaway – Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Lisa Gilford – Sidley Austin LLP
Scott Gizer – Early Sullivan Wright Gizer & McRae LLP
Patricia Glaser – Glaser Weil
Michael Gold – Jeffer Mangels Butler & Mitchell LLP
Valerie Goo – Crowell & Moring LLP
Christina N. Goodrich – K&L Gates LLP
Steven Gubner – BG Law
Lawrence Hadley – Glaser Weil
Patrick Harder – Nossaman
Mira Hashmall – Miller Barondess, LLP
Gary Hecker – Munck Wilson Mandala, LLP
Ileana Hernandez – Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP
Craig Holden – Lewis Brisbois
Nina Huerta – Locke Lord LLP
Bradford Hughes – Clark Hill PLC
Debra James – Ervin Cohen & Jessup LLP
Marc Kenny – Squire Patton Boggs
Christianne Kerns – Hahn & Hahn LLP
Dana Kravetz – Michelman & Robinson, LLP
Barry Kurtz – Lewitt Hackman
Michelle La Mar – Loeb & Loeb
Kevin Lally – McGuireWoods LLP
David Lari – Cox, Castle & Nicholson
DAVID LASH – O’Melveny & Myers LLP
Diana Leiden – Winston & Strawn LLP
Adam Levin – Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP
Meg Lodise – Sacks, Glazier, Franklin & Lodise LLP
Valerie Lozano – Quinn Emanuel
Sam Maizel – Dentons US LLP
Caroline Mankey – Akerman LLP
Constantine Marantidis – Lewis Roca
Natalie Martirossian – Goodwin Procter LLP
Debra Meppen – Gordon Rees Scully Mansukhani
Brian R. Michael – Morrison Foerster LLP
Linda Michaelson – Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton
Sanford Michelman – Michelman & Robinson, LLP
Darrell Miller – Fox Rothschild LLP
Elissa Miller – Greenspoon Marder LLP
Skip Miller – Miller Barondess, LLP
Robert Millman – Littler Mendelson P.C.
Burton Mitchell – Jeffer Mangels Butler & Mitchell LLP
Ann Marie Mortimer – Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP
John-Paul (JP) Motley – Cooley
Tony Natsis – Allen Matkins
David Nemecek – Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Ana O’Brien – Latham & Watkins LLP
Rick Olivarez – Olivarez Madruga Law Organization
Christopher Pelham – Norton Rose Fulbright
Stacy D. Phillips – Blank Rome LLP
Robyn Polashuk – Covington & Burling LLP
Jeffrey Pomerantz – Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones LLP
Jennifer Post – Thompson Coburn LLP
Andrew Raines – Raines Feldman
Angela Reddock-Wright – Reddock Law/Signature Resolution
Mathew Rosengart – Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Kristina Royce – Blank Rome LLP
Kelli Sager – Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Robin Samuel – Baker McKenzie
Todd Scherwin – Fisher Phillips
Joshua Schneiderman – Snell & Wilmer
Jessica Sganga – Knobbe Martens
Michael Sherman – Stubbs Alderton & Markiles, LLP
Miwa Shoda – Jenner & Block LLP
Kalpana Srinivasan – Susman Godfrey LLP
Julia Strickland – Stroock & Stroock & Lavan LLP
Kenneth Sulzer – Constangy, Brooks, Smith & Prophete, LLP
Daron Tooch – King & Spalding LLP
Staci Trager – Nixon Peabody LLP
Belinda Vega – Venable LLP
Perrie Weiner – Baker McKenzie
Steven Weisburd – Carlton Fields, LLP
Sharon Weiss – Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner
Rebecca Winthrop – Norton Rose Fulbright
Richard Wittbrodt – Gibbs Giden
Debra Wong Yang – Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Kollin Zimmermann – Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton




Christina N. Goodrich – Managing Partner, Los Angeles Office


Nina Huerta – Locke Lord Executive Committee Member and Managing Partner of Locke Lord


Stacy D. Phillips – Partner, Matrimonial & Family Law


Michael Sherman – Partner, Chair of the Business Litigation Practice


Nancy Sher Cohen – Partner, a leader of the Lathrop GPM Insurance Recovery & Counseling Practice Team


David Lash – Managing Counsel for Pro Bono and Public Interest Services





View last year’s event recap here.

If you’re interested in sponsoring, speaking or partnership opportunities
please call (323) 549-5225 or email

Return to main 2023 events page here

Featured Articles

Related Articles